Apple Cider Vinegar

ACV and me

Here is a slice of my experience with ACV (Apple Cider Vinegar)

My son Jay (8 year old) has had tummy issues before and still complains about this occasionally. I Had tried giving him manuka honey daily in the morning , I had  tried egg/meat free diet and few other natural remedies. After suggestions from a friend,  I thought I will try ACV for him.

I bought 2 bottles of ACV from a local pharmacy. (why 2 bottles? they came in offer … 🙂 )

Bragg-Apple-Cider-Vinegar-Organic-Raw-074301009111

I gave him to drink in empty stomach. Even after diluting one table spoon with one glass of water he would not consume it. Even with RM 50 bribe (money has always worked!) he refused to take. I did not know it stinks that much.

Now what to do with that much ACV? I hate to waste stuff.

Tried few times in salads as dressing to get rid of what I got.

One day I came across this tip to use ACV for hair.

For a long time I was going through hair loss problem. I had tried many stuff like coconut oil, sesame oil and herbal treatments for months. Nothing really worked. I even checked with my physician. By the way I did not have dandruff. I could not figure out the cause for losing hair, except to accept it as getting old, heredity, stress and blah blah…

Coming back to ACV , I read that restoring the pH of the scalp may help prevent hair loss.

So in order not to waste what I bought,  I tried the ACV rinse.

Voila!, My scalp felt good after a long time and soon my hair fall reduced tremendously.

How I use ACV?

I mix 1 part ACV with 1 part water.  After shampooing pour the  ACV rinse over hair and massage it into scalp. Then rinse with warm water, then cool water.

The smell was strong at first, but it faded and I did not have to spend my day smelling like salad dressing.

How often I use it?

Used this rinse once especially just  before coloring and once after coloring my hair, which I do once  month.

How ACV helps?

The high acidity (organic malic acid) plus the powerful enzymes (the “mother’s” life chemicals) in ACV kill the bottle bacillus, a germ responsible for many scalp and hair conditions … (including) dandruff, itching scalp, thinning hair and often baldness.

By and large, our scalps are more acidic than water, which has a neutral pH of 7. Human hair and scalp oil, sebum, has a pH balance of between 4.5 and 5.5. This natural hair acidity prevents fungi and bacteria in the hair and scalp, and keeps the cuticle closed and healthy.

Rinsing with apple cider vinegar will help balance the pH of your hair and remove the buildup that can result from the use of these styling products  and coloring products.

  1. ACV  maintains  the pH balance of the scalp, thus preventing the scalp from any infections and dryness
  2. It acts as a natural cleanser for hair and scalp as the acetic acid present in ACV removes dirt and any remnants of styling gels and shampoos and makes your hair look softer and lighter.
  3. The clogged follicles get opened when ACV is applied on the scalp and act like a conditioner
  4. The acidic content in the vinegar reduces flaking and itchiness
  5. Vinegar contains essential nutrients like potassium, iron, Vitamins A, C, B1, B6, which provide perfect nutrients for the growth of hair
  6. The alpha-hydroxyl acids present in  the ACV removes the dead top layers of the scalp  and  thoroughly helps in preventing scalp psoriasis
  7. ACV with its alkaline nature prevents scalp problems and also help to heal small scratches on the scalp.

What are the other benefits of ACV

To reap its many benefits you have to get unfiltered, unpasteurized, organic apple cider vinegar with what is called the “mother.” The mother is a stringy substance formed during the last stage of fermentation, and is the part with the most healing properties. This vinegar is cloudy and should be shaken before you use it to get all the good bits that settle to the bottom. The most commonly available organic ACV is Bragg’s brand.

Hippocrates, the Father of Medicine, proclaimed apple cider vinegar’s many healing benefits more than 2,500 years ago. This vinegar can help

  • Weight loss
  • Weak finger nails
  • Arthritis
  • Coughs
  • constipation
  • Diarrhea
  • Ear infection
  • Sore eyes
  • Fatigue
  • Acid reflux
  • Headaches and more, including hair loss.

It has been proved that if you drink it on a regular basis, you can derive out lots of benefits including heart burn, skin disorders and aging.

Apple cider vinegar is wonderful for achieving overall health.

 Don’t you think ACV can be your good friend too?

Disclaimer: This article is meant to provide  general information only based on my experience.  Always seek the insights of a qualified health professional before venturing out on any health issue.

 

      Article by Manju Hariharan

1 thought on “ACV and me

Leave a comment